Questions? We have answers.

In what U.S. states does Alexa charge sales tax?

Starting on the dates listed, Alexa is required to collect state sales tax from customers in the following states: 

Arizona: April 1, 2020

Puerto Rico: April 1, 2018

Hawaii: April 1, 2017

South Dakota: February 1, 2017

District of Columbia (Washington, DC): October 1, 2016

South Carolina: January 1, 2016

Ohio: June 1, 2015

New Jersey: April 1, 2015

New York: April 1, 2015

Washington State: April 1, 2015 

If your organization is tax-exempt, please follow these instructions to validate your organization's tax-exempt status. 

Articles in this section